Hector Lombard was disqualified after this brutal shot on CB Dolloway 4 years ago

Hector Lombard was disqualified after this brutal shot on CB Dolloway

We don't see all that many disqualifications in the UFC nowadays.

Prior to Saturday night, the last DQ in the world's preeminent mixed martial arts organisation took place last November, when Mark Godbeer was awarded the win following an illegal head kick from Walt Harris.

Advertisement

On the UFC 222 undercard this weekend, a shot after the bell meant that middleweight fighter CB Dolloway was forced to leave the arena on a stretcher but with another win on his record.

The opening round of the 185lbs match-up was a back-and-forth affair but the fight didn't see a second round as Hector Lombard unleashed a furious overhand left immediately after the buzzer sounded to bring an end to the first five minutes.

Referee Mark Smith had shouted "time" on the round but Lombard was already uncorking his clubbing shot which sent Dolloway to his backside.

Advertisement

The punch was clearly illegal and when the stunned Dolloway was unable to return to his corner, the referee had no choice but to bring an end to proceedings.

Dolloway was already on the stretcher when he discovered that he was named the winner via DQ.

Lombard was none too pleased with the outcome backstage. After being shown the combination in real-time, the Cuban middleweight insisted that it was the referee's responsibility to get between the fighters.

Advertisement

After Saturday night's result, Lombard remains without a UFC win in four years so, in all likelihood, we've seen him in the Octagon for the last time.

What a difference a second can make.