Search icon


07th Apr 2015

Rory McIlroy and Phil Mickelson will be playing together for the opening rounds of the Masters

Some cracking three-balls lined up for the opening two days

Neil Treacy

There’s bound to be an enormous gallery following these two around Augusta.

The tee times and pairings for the opening two rounds of the Masters are in, and there are some cracking three-balls picked.

The standout grouping sees three time champion and all round darling of the Augusta galleries Phil Mickelson lined up with Rory McIlroy and American Ryan Moore. The pair are out at 3:41pm Irish time on Thursday, and 6:48pm on Friday, meaning we should see their second round in full, with tv coverage beginning at 7pm.

Splitting the media scrum with that pair will undoubtedly be Tiger Woods, and he’ll be partnering Jimmy Walker and Jamie Donaldson on his return to action. The trio will be on the course at 6:48pm on the opening day, and 3:30pm on Friday.

Shane Lowry is in a relatively low key grouping for his Masters debut, with the experience of 1998 champion Mark O’Meara and young American Chris Kirk. The group will tee off at half past five Irish time on Thursday, and 2:02pm on Friday afternoon.

Ryan Palmer and Thomas Bjorn will be alongside Padraig Harrington on his return to Augusta, alongside former Ryder Cup teammate Thomas Bjorn and Ryan Palmer, going out at 5.42 and 2:13 on Thursday and Friday respectively.

Graeme McDowell will be making his eighth appearance at Augusta this weekend, and the former US Open champion will be on the course at 6:04pm for his opening round, and 3:35pm on Friday. The Portrush golfer will be joined on the course by Brooks Koepka and Matt Kuchar.

Darren Clarke will be the first Irishman to tee off in this year’s tournament, he’s out at half past one on Thursday with 2000 champion Vijay Singh and Russell Henley.

There are some cracking groups lined up, with the three-ball of Jason Day, Sergio Garcia looking incredibly strong, while the in-form JB Holmes is with Martin Kaymer and Brandt Snedeker.

All tee times are based on Irish time.