Tailteann Cup fixtures, dates and times confirmed by GAA 1 year ago

Tailteann Cup fixtures, dates and times confirmed by GAA

Now we're cooking.

There has been a lot of promise and ambition placed on the new Tailteann Cup championship, in hopes of giving counties outside of the usual top four or five, a chance of enjoying a successful summer of football.


The traditional championship, where you would play in your province, or then through the back door into the qualifiers if you exited, has proved to be ineffective.

If you're a team in Division Four for example and you happen to play two Division One teams in your two allocated fixtures, then your summer could be over in a flash.

The Tailteann Cup's design has aims for teams to be more evenly matched and for counties to be paired with opposition of an equal standing, to therefore be more competitive.


The GAA have officially confirmed the opening fixtures of this new competition, which will be begin on Saturday 28th May, when the Northern section of the tournament gets underway.

Familiar rivals such as Cavan and Down will face each other, while Leitrim's game against Antrim really catches the eye as a potentially good match.

Sunday 29th May will see the Southern section of the competition begin, when Carlow play Tipperary, Laois play Westmeath, and Wexford or Offaly will face either Wicklow or Waterford.


Tailteann Cup Round 1 Fixtures

Saturday 28 May

Northern Section


Cavan v Down, Kingspan Breffni, 2pm.

Leitrim v Antrim, Avant Money Páirc Sean MacDiarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon, 2pm – (GAAGO).

Longford v Fermanagh, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 5.30pm.

Sligo v London, Markievicz Park, 6pm.

Sunday 29 May


Southern Section

Carlow v Tipperary, Netwatch Cullen Park, Carlow, 2pm.

Laois v Westmeath, MW Hire O’Moore Park, Portlaoise, 2pm

Wexford/Offaly v Wicklow/Waterford, Venue TBC, 2pm.