Donal Vaughan returns to Mayo team as Colm Boyle drops out 3 years ago

Donal Vaughan returns to Mayo team as Colm Boyle drops out

James Horan has been forced into a couple of these changes.

Mayo take on Armagh in Castlebar on Saturday [7pm throw-in, live on Sky Sports] and Horan has made four changes to his team that defeated Down in round two of the Qualifiers.


One of the changes is enforced by the wrist injury to team captain Diarmuid O'Connor, while his brother Cillian O'Connor also misses out.

The big news sees Donie Vaughan return to the starting 15 and named at N0.8 beside midfielder Aidan O'Shea. The big question on the day will be whether Horan goes with Vaughan in midfield or opts for Mikey Murray [named in the half forwards], who is in for his first championship start.

On The GAA Hour, host Colm Parkinson stated that whoever started alongside O'Shea would pick up Paul Grimley, leaving the Breaffy man to take on Jarlath Og Burns. He said:

"The throw-in is going to be such a big deal, isn't it? Like, who wins that throw-in between Aidan O'Shea and Jarlath Og Burns? I actually think the other two midfielders should just get out of there. Don't get in these two lads' way. Let's just see these two lads go for it!"



Elsewhere, Horan has brought in Michael Plunkett in place of the experienced Colm Boyle, in the half back line.

Fergal Boland gets the No.15 jersey as Darren Coen drops out, while veteran forward Andy Moran is retained at full forward for the encounter at MacHale Park.



1. David Clarke - Ballina Stephenites

2. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis

5. Lee Keegan - Westport
6. Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
7. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels(C)


8. Donal Vaughan - Castlebar Mitchels
9. Aidan O’Shea - Breaffy

10. Fionn McDonagh - Westport
11. Conor Loftus - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
12. Mikey Murray - Ballina Stephenites

13. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
14. Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen
15. Fergal Boland - Aghamore

The winner will advance to round four of the Qualifiers and be drawn agains one of the four provincial losers for a place in the Super 8s.