Leitrim: The rise 1 year ago

Leitrim: The rise

13 years later, Leitrim are back in Croke Park.

Just once in their entire history have Leitrim footballers won a national senior title and they have that opportunity on Saturday.

Back in 1990, they beat Sligo in the All-Ireland B final in a feat that makes up one of five titles that the senior football team has ever won in the county's entire history.

Leitrim's success

  • 1927 - Connacht SFC
  • 1990 - All-Ireland B
  • 1994 - Connacht SFC
  • 2013 - FBD Insurance League
  • 2014 - FBD Insurance League

Now, for the first time since they lost the Tommy Murphy final in 2006, the county is on its way to Drumcondra and, with Leitrim folk making the journey from Scotland, England and as far as America for the occasion, Croke Park will be a coloured in green and gold as they bid for a novel league title.

Leitrim legend Tommy Moran, who acted as county secretary for 18 years and was there for the provincial-shaking success of 1994, has seen the good times and the bad times whilst Emlyn Mulligan, one of the most consistent forwards in the country for a decade, has never had the honour of plying his trade in headquarters.

He has that opportunity this weekend and Leitrim have a golden opportunity to claim another historic trophy in the Division Four final.

Here is their passionate story.