Search icon


26th Jan 2019

Jim Gavin names Dublin team for league opener with Monaghan

Jack O'Toole

Dublin Gaelic Football manager Jim Gavin has named his team for the All-Ireland national league opener with Monaghan on Sunday.

Gavin has retained nine players from the Dublin side that defeated Tyrone in last year’s All-Ireland final with Ciaran Kilkenny, James McCarthy, Jack McCaffrey, Philly McMahon, Cian O’Sullivan and Stephen Cluxton all making way.

The players are replaced in the starting side by Cormac Costello, Michael Darragh MacAuley, Conor Mullally, Michael Fitzsimons, Eric Lowndes and goalkeeper Evan Comerford.

Dublin have won five of the last six National League titles and will also be looking to defend the All-Ireland for a fifth consecutive time when the championship kicks-off later in the year.

Monaghan have also named their starting side with star forward Conor McManus named among the substitutes.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?