Search icon


07th Apr 2024

Jarlath Burns sends Clare crowd wild as he breaks with tradition for trophy presentation

Niall McIntyre

Jarlath Burns gave another powerful speech as he presented Clare with the Allianz National Hurling League trophy.

The Clare crowd in Thurles were already very excited, having watched their county win their first piece of silverware since 2016 and Burns captured the moment perfectly for them.

Clare defeated rivals Kilkenny by 3-16 to 1-20 after surviving a late Eoin Cody and Martin Keoghan inspired-rally in Thurles.

Brian Lohan’s team had looked destined for victory throughout the second half, with goals from Aidan McCarthy (two) and David Fitzgerald having put them in a dominant position but Kilkenny typically never gave in, and almost snatched victory from the jaws of defeat.

In his speech – something the Armagh man is fast becoming renowned for – he hailed Kilkenny as a county that we should all admire.

“You are the standard that we must all reach,” the new Uachtarán said of Kilkenny.

“You are the epitome of what a hurling county should be.

“And the beating heart of hurling in this country. We know that you have bigger ambitions later.”

“But tonight belongs to the Banner,” he said to loud cheers from the Clare faithful who had travelled in their droves.

“This evening, you honoured your 1977 and 1978 teams that won two-in-a-row, those great men are still remembered forty years later.

“We know that in forty years time, the men who played here tonight will also be remembered, for not only tonight, but for the chapter of Clare hurling that is yet to be written, and will be written by this team.”

Burns then broke with tradition by asking Geoff Sparling of Allianz, a ‘proud Clare man’ to present the trophy.

“So without further delay, I’m going to break with tradition and ask this man Geoff Sparling of Allianz, a proud Clare man, to present the cup, to a man, a big man, fear mór, uimhir a trí, who plays his football for Miltown Malbay and his hurling for Kilmaley, ladies and gentleman, put your hands together for your captain tonight, Conor Cleary.”

By then, the Banner were roaring into the night.


Eoin Murphy; Shane Murphy (0-1), Huw Lawlor, Tommy Walsh; David Blanchfield (0-1), Paddy Deegan, Richie Reid (0-1); Cian Kenny (0-2), Jordan Molloy (0-1); Adrian Mullen (0-3), John Donnelly (0-1), Billy Ryan (0-1); Luke Hogan, Billy Drennan (0-1f), Eoin Cody (1-4, 0-3f)

Subs: Martin Keoghan (0-4) for Luke Hogan (29), Kevin Blanchfield for Jordan Molloy (48), Liam Blanchfield for Billy Ryan (60)


Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Conor Leen; Diarmuid Ryan (0-1), John Conlon, Cian Galvin; David Fitzgerald (1-0), Darragh Lohan (0-1); Cathal Malone (0-1), Mark Rodgers (0-3), Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy (2-10, 0-9f), Ian Galvin (0-1), David Reidy. 

Subs: Shane O’Donnell for Ian Galvin (HT), Aron Shanagher for David Reidy (52), David McInerney for Cian Galvin (57), Rory Hayes for Conor Leen (58), Seadna Morey for Darragh Lohan (66)

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?