Search icon


29th Sep 2023

Brendan Rogers’ Player of the Year nomination unexpected but thoroughly deserved

Lee Costello

Brendan Rogers

James McCarthy misses out on nomination.

The Gaelic football All-Stars has been announced and Brendan Rogers Player of the Year nomination is unexpected but thoroughly deserved.

Since Dublin beat Kerry in the All-Ireland final almost immediately the conversation to who would win the Player of the Year awards.

Former Dublin stars like Paul Flynn were adamant that the award should go to James McCarthy despite the fact he maybe wasn’t the best player, but because he lead the team to an historic victory and was so central to that.

Kerry people like Tomas O’Se argues that David Clifford should win it because he was the best player throughout most of the season, regardless of the fact that he had a poor final.

Derry’s Shane McGuigan and Dublin’s Mick Fitzsimons were tipped to get the third nomination, but not really be expected to win it.

However, that nod has actually went to Brendan Rogers’ who has enjoyed an unbelievable season, making the move from full back to midfield and being at the very heart of Derry’s success this season.

Much to the shock of Flynn and other Dubs, McCarthy never got a nomination, but the blow will be softened by Brian Fenton getting a his spot instead.

2023 PwC All-Star Football Nominees


Rory Beggan (Monaghan)
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Shane Ryan (Kerry)


Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)

Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)Seán Kelly (Galway)

Jason Foley (Kerry)
Tadhg Morley (Kerry)
Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)
Gavin White (Kerry)
Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)
Lee Gannon (Dublin)
Brian Howard (Dublin)
Gareth McKinless (Derry)
Conor McCluskey (Derry)
Eoin McEvoy (Derry)

Aidan Forker (Armagh)
Brian Stack (Roscommon)
Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)
Rory Maguire (Cork)
Brendan McCole (Donegal)


Brian Fenton (Dublin)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Conor Glass (Derry)
Brendan Rogers (Derry)
Diarmuid O’Connor (Kerry)
Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)


Brendan Rogers

Colm Basquel (Dublin)
Cormac Costello (Dublin)
Paul Mannion (Dublin)
Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
David Clifford (Kerry)
Paudie Clifford (Kerry)
Seán O’Shea (Kerry)
Paul Cassidy (Derry)

Shane McGuigan (Derry)
Oisín Gallen (Donegal)
Conor McManus (Monaghan)
Enda Smith (Roscommon)
Darragh Canavan (Tyrone)
Rónán O’Toole (Westmeath)
Andrew Murnin (Armagh)
Jordan Flynn ((Mayo)
Ben McCormack (Kildare)
Damien Comer (Galway)

2023 PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year Nominees

David Clifford (Kerry),

Brian Fenton (Dublin)

Brendan Rogers (Derry)

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?