GAA JOE All-Star hurling team 1 month ago

GAA JOE All-Star hurling team

9 for Limerick, 2 for Kilkenny, 2 for Cork, 1 for Clare and 1 for Waterford.

A number of players can count themselves unlucky to miss out on this selection but on teams like these, the competition is stiff and there are always going to be hard luck stories. So let's not beat around the bush.


At the top of the list of notable absentees are Seamus Flanagan and Peter Casey. Flanagan was brilliant, barring a middling final, so was Casey but it's as simple as this - neither were as good as Hoggie. Likewise, and while he was very impressive in the All-Ireland final, Hegarty, by his standards, didn't have a show-stopping 2021. So Tony Kelly gets the nod instead.

Seamus Harnedy and Mark Coleman were brilliant, but they were not as good as Declan Hannon and Tom Morrissey. Darragh O'Donovan hardly put a foot wrong, but William O'Donoghue and Jamie Barron, by this writer's estimation anyway, were marginally more effective. Jason Forde was tremendous but Eoin Cody - who led the Kilkenny attack - had more time to shine, while Diarmuid Byrnes, Robbie O'Flynn and Shane Kingston also miss out, but only just.

1 Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2 Sean Finn (Limerick)

3 Dan Morrissey (Limerick)

4 Barry Nash (Limerick)


5 Kyle Hayes (Limerick)

6 Declan Hannon (Limerick)

7 Tim O'Mahony (Cork)

8 Jamie Barron (Waterford)

9 William O'Donoghue (Limerick)


10 Tony Kelly (Clare)

11 Cian Lynch (Limerick)


12 Tom Morrissey (Limerick)

13 Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)

14 Patrick Horgan (Cork)

15 Aaron Gillane (Limerick)


Hurler of the Year

Cian Lynch. No explanation needed.

Young Hurler of the Year

Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)