Search icon


19th Feb 2021

Cavan make history as Dubs dominate the 2020 Football All-Stars XV

Conor Heneghan


Any glaring omissions?

To the surprise of nobody, Dublin have dominated the 2020 PWC Ireland All-Star Football Team selection, with nine representatives from Dessie Farrell’s history-making side making the cut.

The Dubs have a representative in every line of the field bar between the sticks, where Cavan’s Raymond Galligan was selected ahead of Stephen Cluxton after the Breffni men’s first Ulster title success in 23 years.

Galligan is joined by his namesake Thomas at midfield and Padraig Faulkner at full-back to make three Cavan representatives in total, with the county previously having only had two representatives in the history of the All-Star scheme following its inception 50 years ago.

With three players in the final selection, Cavan outnumber All-Ireland finalists Mayo, who are represented by Kilmaine tyro Oisin Mullin in the full-back line and Footballer of the Year nominee Cillian O’Connor at top of the left.

Conor Sweeney also makes the cut in the full-forward line after some inspirational displays in captaining Tipperary to their first Munster title in 85 years.

Outside of that, it’s all Dublin, who make up the entire half-back line – James McCarthy, John Small and Eoin Murchan – and the entire half-forward line – Niall Scully, Ciaran Kilkenny and Con O’Callaghan – with space for Michael Fitzsimons at corner-back, Brian Fenton at midfield and Dean Rock at corner-forward.

Brian Fenton, Ciaran Kilkenny and Cillian O’Connor will battle it out for the 2020 Footballer of the Year, with the Mayo trio of Oisin Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin and Tommy Conroy in contention for the Young Footballer of the Year gong.

Both of those awards, as well as the 2020 Hurling All-Star team, will be revealed in a special programme on RTÉ One on Saturday at 6.35pm.

Presenting your 2020 PWC Ireland All-Star Football team in full:

  1. Raymond Galligan (Cavan)
  2. Oisin Mullin (Mayo)
  3. Padraig Faulkner (Cavan)
  4. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)
  5. James McCarthy (Dublin)
  6. John Small (Dublin)
  7. Eoin Murchan (Dublin)
  8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
  9. Thomas Galligan (Cavan)
  10. Niall Scully (Dublin)
  11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
  12. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
  13. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)
  14. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)
  15. Dean Rock (Dublin)

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?