Doyle bridges the gap for Westmeath as Limerick eye another big All-Star total 6 months ago

Doyle bridges the gap for Westmeath as Limerick eye another big All-Star total

As you would expect, Limerick lead the way with 12 of their players earning All-Star nominations for 2022.

Graeme Mulcahy, Dan Morrissey and Darragh O'Donovan are the three starters who haven't been nominated for the Treaty, with John Kiely's side looking unlikely to match their record-breaking haul of 12 award winners from 2021.


Kilkenny are next best, with eight Cats earning nominations though, all things considered, you'd have to say that their flying wing back Mikey Carey is unlucky not to make it onto the 45 man short-list. Both Paddy Deegan and Daithí Burke are rather fortunate to be in ahead of him.

Another notable absentee is Galway newcomer Darren Morrissey, though it has to be said that the defensive positions are extremely competitive this year. It's very hard to know who to take out.

Meanwhile, it's a proud day for Raharney and Westmeath as the free-scoring Killian Doyle becomes their first All-Star nominee since 1986 - that was the year David Kilcoyne became the Lake County's first and only hurling All-Star. Doyle is unlikely to win an award, and it's possible that he's had better years from open play, though it's nigh time his scoring feats have been recognised.

As for the cream of the crop, it's likely that TJ Reid and Barry Nash will just lose out to Diarmaid Byrnes for Hurler of the Year. Eoin Cody, on the other hand, is chasing history as he looks to win Young Hurler of the Year for a third time. His team-mate Mikey Butler, however, is tipped to displace him.


See The GAA JOE All-Star team here.


Nickie Quaid (Limerick), Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny), Eanna Murphy (Galway).



Sean Finn, Barry Nash, Mike Casey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon (all Limerick), Mikey Butler, Huw Lawlor, Richie Reid, Paddy Deegan (all Kilkenny), Paul Flanagan, John Conlon, Diarmuid Ryan, David McInerney (all Clare), Ciaran Joyce (Cork), Damien Reck (Wexford), Daithi Burke, Padraic Mannion, Fintan Burke (all Galway).


Tom Monaghan (Galway), Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork), David Fitzgerald, Ryan Taylor (all Clare), William O'Donoghue (Limerick), Adrian Mullen (Kilkenny).



Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan (all Limerick), TJ Reid, Eoin Cody (all Kilkenny), Tony Kelly, Shane O’Donnell (all Clare), Noel McGrath (Tipperary), Robbie O’Flynn (Cork), Dessie Hutchinson (Waterford), Conor Whelan, Cathal Mannion, Joseph Cooney (all Galway), Lee Chin (Wexford), Donal Burke (Dublin), Killian Doyle (Westmeath).

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year

Barry Nash (Limerick), Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick), TJ Reid (Kilkenny).

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year


Mikey Butler (Kilkenny), Eoin Cody (Kilkenny), Ciaran Joyce (Cork).