Search icon


21st Jul 2023

Limerick captain Declan Hannon not named in All-Ireland final squad

Lee Costello

Declan Hannon

William O’Donoghue is in his place.

Limerick captain Declan Hannon has not been named in the match-day 26 for the All-Ireland final against Kilkenny this Sunday.

The reigning champions have named an unchanged team from the side that beat Galway in the semi-finals, but manager John Kiely was hopeful that his captain would be fit for the decider.

A knee injury picked up earlier in the season is the reason behind his absence and William O’Donoghue is once again named at centre back in his place.

Kilkenny appear to have got good news on the injury front as David Blanchfield has been an injury concern coming into this game, but has been named in the starting line-up.

The flying defender had picked up an unusual injury, hurting his lungs in the semi-finals, but going by the team news alone, he looks fit and able to play in the game.

Limerick are going for the fourth Liam McCarthy in a row, which would see them tie the record currently held by their opponents.

This means that it’s in the Black Cats hands whether or not they can hold onto that record, and stop the Munster champions reign of dominance.

KILKENNY: Eoin Murphy (Glenmore); Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels), Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan); David Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels); Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own), Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Tom Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks), Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), John Donnelly (Thomastown); Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan), T.J. Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eoin Cody (c, Ballyhale Shamrocks).

Substitutes: Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s), Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own), Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro), Pádraig Walsh (Tullaroan), Darragh Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Alan Murphy (Glenmore), Cian Kenny (James Stephens), Timmy Clifford (Dicksboro), Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), Richie Hogan (Danesfort), Billy Drennan (Galmoy).

Related links:

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?