Search icon


29th Oct 2023

Sean Currie lights it up in Dublin as Mayo final fails to deliver much excitement

Niall McIntyre

Na Fianna have finally won their first Dublin senior hurling title.

Having lost the last two finals, the Mobhi Road club came into this one with a point to prove and they did that, destroying Ballyboden St Enda’s with a scintillating display of hurling.

Sean Currie was the man-of-the-match in their sixteen point win, scoring a remarkable 2-5 from play from wing forward. Ironically, Currie was also man-of-the-match in their 2021 final loss to Kilmacud Crokes, a game that saw them relinquish a nine point lead before getting pipped in extra-time.

He scored 0-8 that day, 0-7 from play, and as he struggled to get the words out in a despondent post-match interview, it was very difficult stuff to watch. He had no such struggles this Sunday, as he spoke of his relief to RTÉ’s Darragh Moloney.

“So happy,” said Currie.

“After the amount we’ve put in.

“We’ve been through a lot, a lot of ups and downs. The hurt of losing those finals, the amount of work we’ve put in, it’s all for this. It’s finally over, it was all for this day.

“The goals happened after the work-rate of our backs and forwards, and that was incredible,” he added.

Meanwhile, in Mayo, Ballina Stephenites defeated Breaffy who have now lost five finals in the last ten years. The final score was 0-6 to 0-4, with only three points from play scored on the day, and it was described by John Maughan on Mayo TV as the ‘worst county final I’ve ever had to witness.’

Sunday’s county final results

Connacht Gold Mayo Senior Football Championship Final 

  • Ballina Stephenites 0-6 Breaffy 0-4

JJ Kavanagh & Sons Waterford Senior Football Championship Final

  • Rathgormack 1-9 The Nire 0-6

Go Ahead Dublin Senior 1 Hurling Championship Final 

  • Na Fianna 2-19 Ballyboden St Enda’s 0-9

FBD Insurance – County Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Final Replay 

  • Kiladangan 1-21 Thurles Sarsfields 1-20

St. Canice’s Credit Union Kilkenny Senior Hurling Championship Final 

  • O’Loughlin Gaels 0-19 Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-18

Verdict: Ballyhale Shamrocks

Connolly’s of Moy Tyrone Senior Football Championship Final

  • Trillick St. Macartan’s 1-13 Errigal Ciaran 0-13

Brooks Galway Senior Hurling Championship Final 

  • St Thomas 2-12 Turloughmore 1-13

Bon Secours Hospital Cork Premier Senior Football Final 

  • Castlehaven 0-11 Nemo Rangers 0-9

O’Neills Derry Senior Football Championship Final 

  • Glen 1-13 Magherafelt 0-7

Boom & Platform Hire Wicklow Senior Football Championship Final Replay

  • Blessington 0-11 Rathnew 1-6

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?