Search icon


20th Apr 2019

Three Manchester City players named on PFA Player of the Year shortlist

Wil Jones

Raheem Sterling is the only Englishman nominated

The PFA Men’s Player’s Player of the Year shortlist has been released, with half of the nominations going to Manchester City players.

Representing the champions are Raheem Sterling, Sergio Augero and Bernardo Silva.

Two Liverpool players make the list: Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard takes the final spot.

Last year’s winner Mohamed Salah does not make the shortlist.

The Men’s Young Player and Women’s Player of the Year shortlists have also been revealed.

Two names appear on both the main Men’s and Young Player lists: Raheem Sterling and Bernardo Silva.

West Ham’s Declan Rice, Liverpool’s Trent Alexander Arnold, Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford and Bournmouth’s David Brooks make up the rest of the list.

Manchester City also dominates the Women’s list, with the trio of Steph Houghton, Nikita Parris and Keira Walsh all getting the nod. Chelsea’s Erin Cuthbert and Ji So-Yun and Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema also make the cut.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?