Search icon


06th Apr 2024

Shelbourne and Damien Duff release statement after linesman was struck by object

Lee Costello

Damien Duff

Shelbourne have offered an apology to the linesman who’s struck by an object in 2-2 draw against Drogheda United in the League of Ireland last night.

Sean Boyd had just scored an equaliser at Weavers Park when match official Dermot Broughton was struck deep into stoppage time by an item which emanated from the part of the stadium where the visiting Shels fans were located.

Match referee  Rob Hennessy had to pause the match while Broughton was medically assessed, and both teams were ordered to leave the field.

Shelbourne released the following statement:

After a 15 minute interval, Broughton returned, but to the other side of the pitch as the rest of the game was played out. “

“Shelbourne FC wishes to offer a full and unequivocal apology to Dermot Broughton, one of the officials in this evening’s game against Drogheda United.

“We completely condemn the actions of the individual responsible, which has brought embarrassment to our club and fellow supporters.

“We will fully cooperate with Gardaí and officials to identify this individual and ensure they are held accountable for this abhorrent behavior.

“As investigations commence, the club will make no further comment.”

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?