Ireland name team to play Denmark in Euro 2020 qualifier 11 months ago

Ireland name team to play Denmark in Euro 2020 qualifier

Republic of Ireland manager Mick McCarthy has named an unchanged team for Friday evening's Euro 2020 qualifier with Denmark.

Seamus Coleman retains his spot at right-back with Wolves wing-back Matt Doherty set to start from the bench. The Everton defender will start alongside Shane Duffy and Richard Keogh with Enda Stevens set to line up at left-back.

Meanwhile Ireland will go with a three man midfield of Jeff Hendrick, Conor Hourihane and Glenn Whelan while James McClean and Robbie Brady will file out on the wings with David McGoldrick leading the line up front.

McCarthy has won his first two games as Ireland manager and he said after the win over Georgia in March that his side can indeed play football.

"I said that I've been sick of all the negativity and people telling me that we haven't got good players. Well tonight, I think we've seen that we have," said the former Ipswich Town manager.

"People might say that it's only Georgia but Georgia are a good side and have dominated possession in the past when we've played against them.

 "I'm delighted with the players. We've had a great time together. Training's been brilliant, they've been great, they've committed to it and they've got six points, which they're all thrilled with."