Ballon d’Or rankings reveal massive margin Luka Modric won by 4 years ago

Ballon d’Or rankings reveal massive margin Luka Modric won by

Messi didn’t even break the top three

Monday night signaled the end of an era, as for the first time since 2007 someone not called Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or.


Real Mardrid’s Luka Modric picked up the award instead.

The Croatian won the Champions League for the third time in a row this year, but it was his keystone performances for the Croatian national team, dragging them into the final, that were crucial to securing the win.

Now the rankings for the award have been revealed, and it shows that Modric won by an absolutely massive margin.

The midfielder received 753 points in the voting – over 300 more than the 478 points Cristiano Ronaldo got.


Antoine Griezmann was third on 414 points.

Surprisingly, Lionel Messi only came fifth, behind Kylian Mbappé.

Read the full Ballon d’Or rankings below:

1 Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), 753 points


2 Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid and Juventus), 478 points

3 Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico Madrid), 414 points

4 Kylian Mbappé (France, PSG), 347 points

5 Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona), 280 points


6 Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool), 188 points

7 Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid), 121 points

8 Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea), 119 points

9 Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City), 29 points

10 Harry Keane (England, Tottenham), 25 points


11 N'Golo Kanté (France, Chelsea), 24 points

12 Neymar (Brazil, PSG), 19 points

13 Luis Suárez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona), 17 points

14 Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Chelsea and Real Madrid), 12 points

15 Paul Pogba (France, Manchester United), 9 points

16 Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City), 7 points

17 Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid), 6 points

17 Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), 6 points

19 Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool), 4 points

19 Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, FC Barcelona), 4 points

19 Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), 4 points

22 Edinson Cavani (Uruguay, PSG), 3 points

22 Sadio Mané (Senegal, Liverpool), 3 points

22 Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid), 3 points

25 Alisson (Brazil, AS Roma and Liverpool), 2 points

25 Mario Mandzukic (Croacia, Juventus), 2 points

25 Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atlético Madrid), 2 points

28 Diego Godín (Uruguay, Atlético Madrid), 1 point

29 Isco (Spain, Real Madrid), 0 points