Search icon


06th Aug 2023

Henry Slade and Alex Dombrandt set to miss out on England’s World Cup squad

Patrick McCarry

World Cup

No official announcement has been made but expect these calls to be confirmed soon.

Henry Slade and Alex Dombrandt are set to be the biggest casualties from England’s World Cup squad. Scotland have also cut their 41-man squad down to 37 ahead of a return tie with France.

England were defeated 20-9 by Wales in Cardiff, on Saturday, and head coach Steve Borthwick looks to have decided on his final World Cup squad. First flagged by The Times but now widely reported, Henry Slade is set to miss out as Joe Marchant, Manu Tuilagi and Ollie Lawrence take the centre slots. Owen Farrell will be able to cover 10 and 12.

Elsewhere, Ben Earl is set to make the squad with Harlequins’ Alex Dombrandt pushed out. Borthwick has already told reporters he will take three out-halves, so Farrell, Marcus Smith and George Ford should all be travelling to France.

World Cup

Adam Hastings set to miss World Cup

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend has released four senior players from his World Cup training squad.

The Scots beat France 25-21 at Murrayfield, on Saturday, and  Townsend has reduced his training squad to 37.

Stafford McDowall, Adam Hastings, Cameron Henderson and Kyle Rowe have returned to their clubs ahead of the match against France in St. Etienne next Saturday and the World Cup squad being named on Wednesday 16 August.

Updated Scotland training squad


Ewan Ashman (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps
Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) 4 caps
Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 9 caps
Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 5 caps
Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) 27 caps
Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) 9 caps
Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps
Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 35 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 59 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 63 caps
Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 74 caps
Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) 48 caps
WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 54 caps
Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 41 caps
Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 22 caps
Javan Sebastian (Edinburgh Rugby) 4 caps
Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 26 caps
Rory Sutherland (Unattached) 24 caps
George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 36 caps
Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 58 caps


Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors) 2 cap
Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 35 caps
Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 43 caps
Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps
George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 21 caps
Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 37 caps
Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 45 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 62 caps
Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 7 caps
Finn Russell (Bath Rugby) 70 caps
Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 4 caps
Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps
Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 17 caps
Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 29 caps
Ben White (RC Toulon) 15 caps

Related Articles:

House of Rugby hands out 2022/23 season awards