Two Munster players are the sole Irish representation for the Six Nations player of the tournament 6 years ago

Two Munster players are the sole Irish representation for the Six Nations player of the tournament

Do you think there should have been more selected from Ireland?

As the dust settles on the 2017 Six Nations championship, it is now time for attention to be focussed on who were the best performers throughout the 15 fixtures over the past seven weeks.


Each team had their own standout players which has been reflected in the 12-man shortlist which has been drawn up by Accenture and former South Africa and Italy coach, Nick Mallet.

There were many standout performances from an Irish perspective, the likes of Tadhg Furlong, Donnacha Ryan, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Johnny Sexton, Garry Ringrose and Keith Earls easily spring to mind.

However, only two of these aforementioned players have made the official list and both of these ply their trade down south.

The Munster duo of CJ Stander and Conor Murray are both included.


Both players had very good tournaments so it is no surprise that they both make the list.

Murray, unfortunately, got injured in the Welsh match which contributed to the disappointing nature of Ireland's performance.

He will be best remembered for the commanding display he put in against France.


Once which earned him the man-of-the-match award and led to people calling him as a potential candidate for Lions captain.

Stander was consistently Ireland's best back-row player of the championship and his performances were everything which we have come to expect from the South African-born star.


Barn-storming carries, ridiculous tackle counts...the man does it all.

It's hard to argue with the inclusion of the Munster pair but perhaps there should be more Irish representation?

Making up the rest of the 12-man shortlist are:

  • Louis Picamoles (France)
  • Finn Russell (Scotland)
  • Camile Lopez (France)
  • Maro Itoje (England)
  • Owen Farrell (England)
  • Joe Launchbury (England)
  • Stuart Hogg (Scotland)
  • Sergio Parisse (Italy)
  • Rhys Webb (Wales)
  • Ken Owens (Wales)

England have the highest level of representation (3) which is understandable considering they're Six Nations champions.

Wales, Scotland, Ireland and France all have two with Italy only managing one player in Parisse.

Voting is open until noon on Tuesday March 21.

You can vote for your best player of the tournament here.