Leinster receive just three nominations for PRO Dream team 1 year ago

Leinster receive just three nominations for PRO Dream team

Ulster, Munster and Connacht have all had five players nominated for the 2019 Guinness PRO14 Dream Team with reigning champions Leinster receiving just three nominations.

The Guinness PRO14 Dream Team will be revealed tonight in a TV special broadcast on Premier Sports 1 and eir sport 1 with a panel of over 75 media members invited to take part in the voting.

The voting has now closed and three nominees have been identified at every position for the Dream Team with 12 teams represented across all five participating countries.

Benetton received the highest nominations with seven players named followed by Glasgow Warriors and Edinburgh (both six).

Ulster (Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring, Marcel Coetzee, John Cooney, Stuart McCloskey), Munster (Dave Kilcyone, Tadhg Beirne, Peter O'Mahony, CJ Stander, Mike Haley) and Connacht (Colby Fainga’a, Caolin Blade, Jack Carty, Bundee Aki, Tom Farrell) have all had five players while Scott Fardy, James Lowe and Max Deegan were the sole nominees from Leinster.

Nominations (listed by alphabetical order):
Loosehead Prop

Dave Kilcoyne (Munster); Eric O’Sullivan (Ulster); Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh)


Epalahame Faiva (Benetton Rugby); Rob Herring (Ulster); Ken Owens (Scarlets)

Tighthead Prop

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), WP Nel (Edinburgh), Marco Riccioni (Benetton Rugby)

Second Row

Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Federico Ruzza (Benetton Rugby)

Second Row

Scott Fardy (Leinster); Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors); Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)

Blindside Flanker

Max Deegan (Leinster); Peter O’Mahony (Munster); Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues)

Openside Flanker

Colby Fainga’a (Connacht), Braam Steyn (Benetton); Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)

No 8

Marcel Coetzee (Ulster), Bill Mata (Edinburgh), CJ Stander (Munster)


Caolin Blade (Connacht); John Cooney (Ulster); Dewaldt Duvenage (Benetton)


Jack Carty (Connacht); Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors); Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh)

Left Wing

Darcy Graham (Edinburgh); James Lowe (Leinster); Rabz Maxwane (Toyota Cheetahs)

Inside Centre

Bundee Aki (Connacht); Willis Halaholo (Cardiff Blues); Stuart McCloskey (Ulster)

Outside Centre

Tom Farrell (Connacht); Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues); Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)

Right Wing

Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby); Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets); Ratuva Tavuyara (Benetton Rugby)

Full Back

Dan Evans (Ospreys); Mike Haley (Munster); Matthew Morgan (Cardiff Blues)


Read more at https://www.pro14rugby.org/2019/05/22/guinness-pro14-dream-team-will-be-revealed-on-premier-sports-eir-sport/#mImzMLmwiGcJOhBH.99