Search icon


27th Jul 2021

Conor Murray starts as three changes made to Lions team for Second Test

Patrick McCarry

Lions team

The Lions are not resting on their laurels.

Warren Gatland has named his British & Irish Lions team for the Second Test against South Africa, and changes are afoot.

The Lions are 1-0 up in the series after defeating the Springboks 22-17 in the First Test, last Saturday. All three games in the Test Series are being held in Cape Town.

There are three changes to the starting XV, with another on the bench as Toby Faletau replaces Scotland openside Hamish Watson.

British and Irish Lions players line-up before the First Test against South Africa. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Sportsfile)

Mako Vunipola is rewarded for his impact off the bench with the No.1 jersey. Wyn Jones remains out so Rory Sutherland is on the bench.

Chris Harris is named at outside centre, with Elliot Daly dropping down to the bench. Robbie Henshaw remains at inside centre.

The other startinng switch is Conor Murray coming in at scrumhalf, with Ali Price dropping down to the bench. Watson and Liam Williams are two men that were involved last week that now miss out completely on the match-day squad.


15. Stuart Hogg
14. Anthony Watson
13. Chris Harris
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Duhan van der Merwe
10. Dan Biggar
9. Conor Murray

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Luke Cowan-Dickie
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Alun Wyn Jones (c)
5. Maro Itoje
6. Courtney Lawes
7. Tom Curry
8. Jack Conan

REPLACEMENTS: Ken Owens, Rory Sutherland, Kyle Sinckler, Tadhg Beirne, Toby Faletau, Ali Price, Owen Farrell, Elliot Daly.

The Springboks will announce their team later this afternoon.


WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?