Leinster go into crucial Champions Cup game without two massive players 7 years ago

Leinster go into crucial Champions Cup game without two massive players

Leo Cullen has probably spent more time fretting on the availability of players than plotting for Bath's downfall.

Now, at the very least, Leinster know the hand they have been dealt.


We will start with the good news. Isa Nacewa, Luke Fitzgerald and Ben Te'o are all back for Saturday's Champions Cup pool game with Bath.

Unfortunately, they will face Mike Ford's side without Sean O'Brien [concussion] and Rob Kearney [hamstring].

Added to that are the exclusions of Mike McCarthy, Richardt Strauss [both concussion] and Jack Conan [broken foot] and the size of this weekend's task mounts.

Cian Healy comes in to start at loosehead while Isaac Boss replaces Eoin Reddan at scrum-half.


With a double header against Toulon in December, this game must surely rank as a must-win.


15. Isa Nacewa (c)
14. Fergus McFadden
13. Ben Te'o
12. Luke Fitzgerald
11. Dave Kearney
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Isaac Boss

1. Cian Healy
2. Sean Cronin
3. Mike Ross
4. Devin Toner
5. Hayden Triggs
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Jordi Murphy
8. Jamie Heaslip


Replacements: James Tracy, Jack McGrath, Martin Moore, Dominic Ryan, Josh Van Der Flier, Luke McGrath, Ian Madigan, Zane Kirchner

Connacht team huddle 25/4/2015

Connacht, meanwhile, have made 13 changes from the team that travelled to Siberia last weekend and claimed an opening day Challenge Cup win.

Most of that travelling squad only returned to Ireland on Tuesday afternoon after countless frustrating delays.


Luckily, Pat Lam planned ahead.

The head coach is able to recall Irish internationals Robbie Henshaw, Kieran Marmion and Nathan White to his XV for Saturday's date with Brive.


15. Tiernan O’Halloran (c)
14. Rory Parata
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Danie Poolman
10. Jack Carty
9. Kieran Marmion

1. Ronan Loughney
2. Jason Harris-Wright
3. Nathan White
4. Ben Marshall
5. Andrew Browne
6. Eoghan Masterson
7. Nepia Fox-Matamua
8. Eoin McKeon