Leinster extend contracts of 21 players 7 months ago

Leinster extend contracts of 21 players

The future's bright. The future's blue.

Leinster Rugby have capped off an unbelievable year - one that could yet end with more silverware - by adding 21 new contracts to next season alongside the four stars.

Having already secured extensions for Rob Kearney and Tadhg Furlong, the province announced on Wednesday that a further 19 players have been rewarded with new contracts.

Among those are Jordan Larmour who has lit up the RDS - and just about every other ground - this season whilst Rhys Ruddock, Sean Cronin, Fergus McFadden, Dave Kearney, Garry Ringrose and Josh Van Der Flier have also been kept on.

“Of the 21 contracts announced, 18 came through the Leinster Rugby system and played in clubs and schools around the province," Leo Cullen said in a Leinster statement.

“It is also great to see four players promoted from the Academy in the last few months and they will all start next season in the Senior squad.

“Jordan Larmour has grabbed a lot of the headlines given his involvement with Ireland during the Six Nations and starting last weekend but Vakh Abdaladze, Josh Murphy and Caelan Doris have all made telling contributions for both Leinster ‘A’ and the Senior side in the Guinness PRO14 during the course of the season.

“I am delighted for them and indeed their families and congratulate them.”

Included in the list of 21 players are 12 Irish internationals with 280 caps between them.

Leinster Rugby – New Senior Contracts 2018/19:

1. Vakh Abdaladze
2. Michael Bent
3. Ed Byrne
4. Seán Cronin
5. Barry Daly
6. Tom Daly
7. Peter Dooley
8. Caelan Doris
9. Tadhg Furlong
10. Dave Kearney
11. Rob Kearney
12. Jordan Larmour
13. Nick McCarthy
14. Fergus McFadden
15. Ross Molony
16. Josh Murphy
17. Andrew Porter
18. Garry Ringrose
19. Rhys Ruddock
20. James Tracy
21. Josh van der Flier