Andy Farrell names exciting Ireland squad for November internationals 1 year ago

Andy Farrell names exciting Ireland squad for November internationals

A few uncapped players in the mix.

Andy Farrell has named his Ireland squad for the November internationals, with captain Johnny Sexton leading a group that is big on experience, with some exciting prospects thrown in the mix.


Jacob Stockdale returns to the Ireland fold, after injury issues last season, and there are four uncapped players - Jeremy Loughman, Calvin Nash, Ciarán Frawley and Cian Prendergast.

Ireland kick off their Test window by welcoming world champions South Africa to Aviva Stadium on November 5. The following weekends will see them face off against Fiji, then Australia, at the same Lansdowne Road venue.

On the latest House of Rugby [LISTEN from 2:15 below], hosts Greg O'Shea, Lindsay Peat and Jason Hennessy discussed that upcoming window, and mentioned some of the up-and-coming talents that could have a Test role to play over the next 12 months, and beyond.


Ireland squad Robert Baloucoune of Ireland celebrates with team-mates James Hume, Craig Casey and Hugo Keenan, in July 2021. (Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile)

Johnny Sexton captains strong Ireland squad

Robert Baloucoune and Stuart McCloskey's inclusion in the 37-man squad will please plenty of Ulster supporters. Andy Farrell has also named an 'A' panel to supplement the main squad.


The Ireland ‘A’ panel includes Tom Ahern, Diarmuid Barron, Jack Crowley, Shane Daly, Max Deegan, Jamie Osborne, Scott Penny and Roman Salanoa from the Emerging Ireland squad as well as experienced front-row forwards Dave Kilcoyne and Marty Moore.  Players in the A Panel will join the squad following Round 7 of the URC.


Backs (16)

Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) 2 caps
Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 35 caps
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 5 caps
Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/Skerries) uncapped
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 20 caps
Mack Hansen (Connacht) 6 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 60 caps
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 23 caps
Michael Lowry (Ulster/Banbridge) 1 cap
Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 99 caps
Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 6 caps
Calvin Nash (Munster/Young Munster) uncapped
Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas) uncapped
Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 44 caps
Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 108 caps CAPTAIN
Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 35 caps

Forwards (21)

Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 8 caps
Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 25 caps
Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 33 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 30 caps
Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 2 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 20 caps
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 60 caps
Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 7 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 118 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 28 caps
Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen) uncapped
Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin) uncapped
Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 87 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 3 caps
Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 46 caps
Cian Prendergast (Connacht) uncapped
James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 46 caps
Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 10 caps
Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 2 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 8 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 43 caps