Ronan O'Gara to be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame 6 months ago

Ronan O'Gara to be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame

Ireland's all-time leading points scorer in international rugby Ronan O'Gara will be inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

The former Munster fly-half will join Liza Burgess (Wales), Stephen Larkham (Australia), Pierre Villepreux (France) and Bryan Williams (New Zealand) in the 2018 class which will be honoured at a special ceremony in Rugby, England, on September 12.

The ceremony will be held at the state-of-the-art physical home of the Hall of Fame, which celebrates the  journey of the game from its humble origins to its global present, played by millions of men, women and children.

Five new inductees to the World Rugby Hall of Fame presented by Tudor

World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Bill Beaumont said of the new inductees: “The World Rugby Hall of Fame importantly acknowledges and celebrates the true legends of the game, celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions throughout their careers while embodying rugby’s values.

“On behalf of the rugby family we would like to congratulate this year’s five new inductees, Stephen Larkham, Ronan O’Gara, Pierre Villepreux, Byran Williams and Liza Burgess as they are recognised and honoured for their immense contributions to rugby.

“Each have left their mark on the sport and through their achievements and character, inspired millions to play and support rugby worldwide, and we look forward to honouring them in the coming weeks.”

O'Gara becomes just the 12th Irish man to be inducted into the Hall of Fame and only the third player from this century behind former Ireland captains Brian O'Driscoll and Keith Wood.

The full Irish list of inductees includes:

  • Basil Maclear - Inducted 2015


    Fergus Slattery - Inducted 2015


  • Tom Kiernan - Inducted 2015


  • Keith Wood - Inducted 2014


  • Ronnie Dawson - Inducted 2013


  • Mike Gibson - Inducted 2011


  • Syd Millar - Inducted 2009


  • Tony O'Reilly - Inducted 2009


  • Willie-John McBride - Inducted 2009


  • Jack Kyle - Inducted 2008