Search icon


07th Mar 2016

UFC 196 payouts show Conor McGregor earned ten times as much as Miesha Tate

That's a lot of cash


Conor McGregor may have been submitted over the weekend, but his takings from UFC 196 were second to none.

The Notorious made himself a cool $1m in spite of his defeat, a record for a fighter in the UFC. Although there was no win bonus for the bout, we don’t think Nate Diaz will mind all that much as he took home an impressive $500,000, according to Sherdog.

Things were not quite as lucrative for the winner of the other main event, as Miesha Tate’s $92,000 paled in comparison to Holly Holm’s payout of $500,000 despite ‘The Preacher’s Daughter’ losing her title.

Amazingly, Diego Sanchez picked up $150,000 for his unanimous decision win over Jim Miller in the preliminary rounds.

Diaz and Tate are due to get an extra $50,000 for their performance of the night bonuses, while McGregor and Diaz will share $100,000 evenly for their part of the fight of the night.

Of course, McGregor’s final remuneration will be much greater once his cut of pay-per-view buys and other added payments are calculated.


The full earnings are as follows:

Nate Diaz: $500,000 vs. Conor McGregor: $1,000,000.
Miesha Tate: $92,000 (includes $46,000 win bonus) vs. Holly Holm: $500,000.

Ilir Latifi: $50,000 (includes $25,000 win bonus) vs. Gian Villante: $36,000.
Corey Anderson: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus) vs. Tom Lawlor: $28,000.
Amanda Nunes: $56,000 (includes $28,000) vs. Valentina Shevchenko: $14,000.

Siyar Bahadurzada: $38,000 (includes $19,000 win bonus) vs. Brandon Thatch: $22,000.
Nordine Taleb: $30,000 (includes $15,000 win bonus) vs. Erick Silva: $34,000.
Vitor Miranda: $32,000 (includes $16,000 win bonus) vs. Marcelo Guimaraes: $13,000.

Darren Elkins: $74,000 ($37,000 win bonus) vs. Chas Skelly: $21,000.
Diego Sanchez: $150,000 (includes $75,000 win bonus) vs. Jim Miller: $59,000.
Jason Saggo: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus) vs. Justin Salas: $16,000.
Teruto Ishihara: $34,000 (includes $17,000 win bonus) vs. Julian Erosa: $12,000.