Search icon


18th Sep 2023

Cork duo vying it out with Waterford star for Camogie player of the year


The nominations for the 2023 PwC Camogie All-Star Awards have been revealed.

Leading the pack is the formidable 2023 All-Ireland Champions, Cork, with an impressive eleven nominations. Waterford follows closely with nine nominations, while Galway, Tipperary, and 2022 All-Ireland Champions, Kilkenny, also receive well-deserved recognition with seven, six, and three nominations respectively.

 All-Ireland Senior Champions Cork lead the way in the 2023 PwC Camogie All-Stars nominations, as they celebrate their triumphant return to glory after a five-year hiatus. The Rebels, with their eleven nominations, showcase the exceptional talent that contributed to their O’Duffy Cup victory this year. The eagerly anticipated Awards Ceremony will take place at Croke Park on 4th November 2023.

Meanwhile, two of Cork’s brightest sparks in Amy O’Connor and Saoirse McCarthy will vie it out with Waterford’s Beth Carton for the player of the year award.

 The deserving Cork players nominated for the PwC Camogie All-Stars team are:

  1. Amy Lee
  2. Amy O’Connor
  3. Fiona Keating
  4. Hannah Looney
  5. Katrina Mackey
  6. Laura Hayes
  7. Laura Treacy
  8. Libby Coppinger
  9. Meabh Cahalane
  10. Meabh Murphy
  11. Saoirse McCarthy

 All-Ireland Finalists, Waterford, receive a significant number of nominations. The talented players recognised for their exceptional contributions are:

  1. Annie Fitzgerald
  2. Beth Carton
  3. Brianna O’Regan
  4. Keeley Corbett Barry
  5. Lorraine Bray
  6. Mairead O’Brien
  7. Niamh Rockett
  8. Orla Hickey
  9. Vikki Falconer

 Galway’s players who have been nominated for the prestigious PwC Camogie All-Stars team are:

  1. Aoife Donohue
  2. Carrie Dolan
  3. Fiona Ryan
  4. Niamh Hanniffy
  5. Roisin Black
  6. Shauna Healy
  7. Siobhán McGrath

 Tipperary, have received six nominations with those players recognised for their outstanding contributions to the 2023 All-Ireland Championships are:

  1. Aoife McGrath
  2. Cait Devane
  3. Julieanne Bourke
  4. Karen Kennedy
  5. Roisin Howard
  6. Teresa Ryan

 Kilkenny, the 2022 All-Ireland Champions, also have three nominations. The players who have been nominated for their tremendous efforts are:

  1. Claire Phelan
  2. Denise Gaule
  3. Grace Walsh

In addition to the team nominations, the PwC GPA Camogie Player of the Year nominations have been announced.  These nominations are selected and voted by intercounty players, through the GPA, with the awards sponsored by PwC.

 The PwC GPA Camogie Senior Player of the Year category features three remarkable players. The nominees are:

  1. Amy O’Connor – Cork
  2. Beth Carton – Waterford
  3. Saoirse McCarthy – Cork

 Derry, All-Ireland Intermediate Champions, have two nominations in this category. The nominees from Derry are:

  1. Aine McAllister – Derry
  2. Aoife Ni Chaiside – Derry

 Finalists, Meath are also represented with a nomination for: 

  1. Aoife Minogue – Meath

 The PwC GPA Camogie Premier Junior Player of the Year category includes the following nominees:

  1. Ellen Casey – Clare
  2. Caoimhe Cahill – Clare
  3. Jean Kelly – Tipperary

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?