Ballymacarbry: 38 years of winning 9 months ago

Ballymacarbry: 38 years of winning

38 years of winning.

It all started in 1982.

Michael Ryan didn't have many ideas back then. In reality, he was just doing his wife and sister a favour.

In Ballymacarbry, the ladies footballers were stuck for a manager and Ryan agreed to step in for the season. That would be the longest season of his life.

Ryan won the county title with Ballymac that year and he thought that was the end. 'Ready to fade into the background' as he says himself. Instead, the shock of his life lay in store.

He was informed there was a Munster title to chase down and All-Irelands too. That's when he realised this was going to be a long draw.

By 2006, Ballymacarbry would be firmly on their way to becoming the GAA's most successful ever team. And the Waterford ladies too. Ryan had created a dynasty that saw this marvellous club win 14 Munster titles and 10 All-Irelands in the space of 25 brilliant years.

Ryan moved on after the quarter century but the club kept on winning. In 2013, he came back in as a selector and only a couple of weeks ago, they won their 38th Waterford senior title in a row.

Watch their brilliant story, re-told by Michael himself and his daughter Michelle.