Marek Hamsik denied wonder goal from halfway by confusing rule 2 weeks ago

Marek Hamsik denied wonder goal from halfway by confusing rule

You have to feel sorry for him here

Marek Hamsik has been denied being in with a shot at 'goal of the season' after his speculative effort for Turkish side Trabzonspor was controversially ruled out.

Advertisement

The experienced Slovakian was taking a free-kick for his side, before deciding to try his luck from the half-way line and boy did it pay off as the ball looped over the helpless Kayserispor keeper.

Wheeling away in celebration, the whole stadium stood to a standstill to admire the sheer audacity and beauty of the goal, but the celebrations were soon spoiled by referee Tugay Kaan Numanoglu who blew up and demanded the free-kick be re-taken.

Many people have since been left confused as to the reason why the goal was disallowed. However, according to the rules, you are unable to score directly from a drop-ball (sorry Marek).

The rule might be a confusing one, but on this occasion it seems the referee was absolutely right to rule the goal out.

According to viewers of the game though, it was clearly visible that the referee said to Hamsik to 'play on' when he took the free-kick, only adding to the confusion even more.

Advertisement

Meanwhile another supporter expressed his disappointment at seeing the goal rule out, claiming it was a 'travesty.'

Advertisement

Thankfully for Hamsik and his teammates, the referee following the law to the absolute letter didn't affect them too much: they managed to run out 2-1 winners after two goals from Anastasios Bakasetas secured them the three points.

Related links:


Advertisement