Search icon


10th Aug 2018

Man United’s new squad numbers include interesting Marcos Rojo move

Patrick McCarry

New season, new number for Marcos Rojo.

Manchester United have had a couple of fantastic No.16s since Premier League squad numbers were brought in – Roy Keane and Michael Carrick.

Keane had it from 1993 until his 2005 departure from the club. Carrick was offered the jersey by Alex Ferguson in 2006. As the now retired midfielder told the BBC:

I was sitting in the boss’ office, I think it was the first day I was there, and he said: ‘What squad number do you want?’ I said, ‘I’m not fussed to be honest’. He said, ‘What about number 16?’

“I said, ‘Yeah, no problem’. And literally, that was the conversation. I really didn’t give a monkey’s, to be honest. It really didn’t bother me one bit.

Both Keane and Carrick did the jersey proud. That No.16 became vacant when Carrick officially retired at the end of 2017/18. It has now been passed to one¬†Faustino ‘Marcos’ Alberto Rojo.

The Argentina defender looked set to leave Old Trafford after four years with the club but was retained after United failed to bring in any other central defenders. Rojo can cover the full-back slots as well as lining up in the centre of a back three or four.

Everton looked prime to beat Wolves to his services but Rojo is not finished at United yet and has switched from No.5 to No.16. That may suggest, to some, that the 5 jersey was being freed up for a new acquisition but it remains vacant ahead of the new season.

5 is the only of the traditional Starting XI jerseys not filled after United released a list of their new and updated 2018/19 squad numbers. Marcus Rashford has taken the No.10 jersey [he was previously 19] while Andreas Pereira is the new No.15.

Three players out on loan [listed below*] have been given squad numbers as has Ireland U21 goalkeeper Kieran O’Hara, who will wear No.46 when called up for first team duty. Matteo Darmien is down at No.36 and may yet be loaned out to a Serie A club before their transfer window closes on August 17.


1. David De Gea
2. Victor Lindelof
3. Eric Bailly
4. Phil Jones
6. Paul Pogba
7. Alexis Sanchez
8. Juan Mata
9. Romelu Lukaku
10. Marcus Rashford
11. Anthony Martial
12. Chris Smalling
13. Lee Grant
14. Jesse Lingard
15. Andreas Pereira
16. Marcos Rojo
17. Fred
18. Ashley Young
20. Diogo Dalot
21. Ander Herrera
22. Sergio Romero
23. Luke Shaw
24. Tim Fosu-Mensah*
25. Antonio Valencia
27. Marouane Fellaini
31. Nemanja Matic
36. Matteo Darmian
38. Axel Tuanzebe*
39. Scott McTominay
40. Joel Pereira*
44. Tahith Chong
45. Kieran O’Hara
46. Joshua Bohui
47. Angel Gomes
48. Ethan Hamilton
51. Matej Kovar

United kick off their Premier League campaign against Leicester City at Old Trafford on August 10.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race ūü§¨ | Who will win the Premier League?