Search icon


07th Sep 2021

Stephen Kenny makes four changes to Ireland team for Serbia clash

Patrick McCarry

Ireland team

Some changes are afoot.

Stephen Kenny has named his Ireland team for their latest World Cup Qualifier outing, against Serbia at the Aviva Stadium.

There are four changes from the Ireland side that drew 1-1 with Azerbaijan on Saturday, with Jamie McGrath, Alan Browne, Jeff Hendrick and Andrew Omobamidele all coming into the starting XI.

Ireland captain Seamus Coleman was ruled out of the game on Sunday, and fans got a similar update regarding Brighton forward Aaron Connolly today. Connolly’s Brighton teammate Shane Duffy has been given the captain’s armband tonight.

The FAI confirmed that Callum Robinson will be on the bench ‘as he continues to return to full match fitness’, possibly pre-empting those that had been calling on him to start.

Alan Browne (right) starts in Stephen Kenny’s latest Ireland team. (Photo By Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

The selection effectively amounts to a 4-5-1, but Kenny would argue that James McClean and Jamie McGrath will push on to support lone striker Adam Idah from either wing. Alan Browne will be the centre midfielder tasked with getting forward as much as possible against the Serbians.

Ireland team (vs. Serbia)

1. Gavin Bazunu

2. Matt Doherty
22.Andrew Omobamidele
4. John Egan
5. Shane Duffy

6. Josh Cullen
13. Jeff Hendrick
11. James McClean
18. Jamie McGrath

7. Alan Browne
9. Adam Idah

Ireland are fourth in a five-team group after four rounds of matches. They trail Luxembourg by five points and are ahead of Azerbaijan on goal difference.