Search icon


24th Aug 2020

No room for Whelan in Kenny’s first squad: Idah and Molumby get the nod

Rob O'Hanrahan

The times they are a-changin’…

Jayson Molumby and Adam Idah have received their first call-ups to the Irish Senior Men’s Squad, while Robbie Brady and James McCarthy have returned to the international set-up. There is no room for veteran midfielder Glenn Whelan in the 23-man squad.ada

Ireland boss Stephen Kenny named his first squad this morning, ahead of UEFA Nations League games against Bulgaria and Finland in September, before attention turns to the crunch EURO 2020 Playoff semi-final against Slovakia the following month.

Seamus Coleman returns to the squad after injury had precluded him from the original scheduled game against Slovakia back in March. Darragh Lenihan also bolsters the rearguard, with just 6 defenders named in the squad.

In midfield, James McCarthy and Robbie Brady return to the fold, while Jayson Molumby’s impressive loan season at Millwall sees him rewarded with his first Senior call-up. Molumby was Kenny’s u21 captain, and his fellow graduates from that squad Adam Idah, Troy Parrott and Aaron Connolly will all be seeking to impress.

The Irish players will meet up on Sunday ahead of two day’s training at the National Training Centre in Abbotstown before flying to the Sofia next Tuesday. Both the UEFA Nations League games will be played behind closed doors due to Covid-19 restrictions.

Ireland squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Kieran O’Hara (unattached)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolves), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Darragh Lenihan (Blackburn Rovers).

Midfielders: James McCarthy (Crystal Palace), Harry Arter (Fulham), Jeff Hendrick (unattached), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Robbie Brady (Burnley).

Forwards: Callum Robinson (Sheffield United), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur – on loan at Millwall), Shane Long (Southampton).