Mick McCarthy cuts down Republic of Ireland squad for Euro 2020 qualifiers 6 months ago

Mick McCarthy cuts down Republic of Ireland squad for Euro 2020 qualifiers

The squad has been trimmed to 23 players.

Mick McCarthy has announced his squad for the Republic of Ireland's Euro 2020 qualification games against Gibraltar and Georgia later this month.

Last week, the Ireland manager selected a 38-man provisional squad for the games. In Dublin on Thursday, when the FAI announced SportPesa as a commercial partner, McCarthy released his final selection, trimming 15 players from the provisional squad.

Liverpool goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher will link-up with the Under-21s.

Newport Country striker Padraig Amond has not made the final squad. Either has Kieran O'Hara, Cyrus Christie or Aiden O'Brien. David Meyler, Jimmy Dunne and Kevin Long also miss out.

And there is no place for Derrick Williams, Stephen Ward or Shaun Williams. Aiden McGeady, James McCarthy, Scott Hogan and Daryl Horgan also miss out.

Here is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O'Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town)*Indicates player is on loan