Stephen Rochford's comments on goalkeeping position help explain Mayo team selection 6 years ago

Stephen Rochford's comments on goalkeeping position help explain Mayo team selection

Rob Hennelly will have to wait for his chance to make amends for last year's All-Ireland final replay.

The Breaffy goalkeeper, dramatically drafted in at the last minute at the expense of All-Star David Clarke, conceded a penalty and received a black card in what proved to be the decisive moment of last October's defeat to Dublin.


In a statement to fans Hennelly declared he would never give up on Mayo and duly performed well for his club in the Mayo SFC.

"It is not a good place to be, but I know I have to come back from it, I still believe I have something to offer this team and my county, so now is not the time to relent," said Hennelly.


Unfortunately for him, he will start Mayo's Allianz League campaign on the bench tonight, as Stephen Rochford handed Clarke the No 1 jersey for the visit of Monaghan to Castlebar.

Hennelly is one of EIGHT starters from the All-Ireland final replay dropped for the Division 1 clash - his Breaffy team-mates Aidan, Conor and Seamus O'Shea are also left out.

In his second season with Mayo, Rochford seems determined to generate real competition for places among his squad.

"No more than corner-back or full-forward, if we don't have competition in every line of the field, you get players operating in a comfort zone which means they don't operate to their potential," Rochford said in an interview with the Mayo News this week.


"So my expectation is that the goalkeeping position, the same as at midfield, full-forward will be keenly contested. I know the characters that are in there, they'll ensure that's what happens."

Mayo team to face Monaghan (throw-in 7pm):

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Donie Newcombe (Castlebar Mitchels)


3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

4. Paddy Durcan(Castlebar Mitchels)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)

6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)

7. David Drake (Ballaghaderreen)


8. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)

11. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)

14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)

15. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)