Mayo name exciting team for New York clash 5 months ago

Mayo name exciting team for New York clash

Championship season has arrived.

After struggling our way through the winter months, summer is here, the championship Sundays are only around the corner, this is what it's all about.

It all kicks off this Sunday when New York host Mayo in an eagerly anticipated Connacht Championship clash in Gaelic Park. The League champions will go into the game as 1/200 favourites but don't for a second think that will prevent the Mayo faithful from travelling.

They're expected to flee the west in their droves this bank holiday weekend to mark the dawn of yet another cycle of hope. They have great reason for it this time around.

Not only did they win the League, they also unearthed a number of new players throughout its course and that new-look theme is shown in their starting 15 for the first football championship game of the year.

Three men will make championship debuts out there in Matthew Ruane, James McCormack and Ardagh's James Carr while Evan Regan and Darren Coen are also given their chance in an exciting forward line.

Breaffy's Ruane was one of the players of the league and he will line up with his club mate Aidan O'Shea in midfield. McCormack featured in a couple of league games while James Carr impressed in the final.

Mayo starting 15

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
2. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison - Aghamore
4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
5. Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels(C)
6. Lee Keegan - Westport
7. James McCormack - Claremorris
8. Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
9. Aidan O’Shea - Breaffy
10. Evan Regan - Ballina Stephenites
11. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
12. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
13. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
14. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
15. James Carr - Ardagh

Galway are taking on London in the weekend's other championship clash and Kevin Walsh has also named his team for the pipe-opener.

1 Ruairi Lavelle

2 Eoghan Kerin

3 Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh

4 David Wynne

5 Liam Silke

6 John Daly

7 Gary O'Donnell

8 Tom Flynn

9 Michael Daly

10 Antaine O'Laoi

11 Padraic Cunningham

12 Johnny Heaney

13 Ian Burke

14 Shane Walsh

15 Danny Cummins