John Kiely pure ruthless as Limerick make two big changes for Waterford 1 year ago

John Kiely pure ruthless as Limerick make two big changes for Waterford

The All-Ireland champions go into Sunday's game against Waterford determined to put things right.

For long periods of Limerick's Munster Senior Hurling Championship with Cork, a fortnight ago, it appeared that the Treaty County were on course for a handy victory.

The reigning champions looked lean and mean but they could not put the Rebels away when they were in the ascendancy. They fell away badly in the second half and ended up suffering a 1-26 to 1-19 defeat.

Limerick have Waterford up next, at Walsh Park from 2pm, and boss John Kiely has ruthlessly swung the axe.

The Limerick squad prior to their Munster GAA Hurling Senior Championship Round 2 match against Cork at the LIT Gaelic Grounds. (Photo by Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile)

The two casualties from the starting 15 against Cork are Darragh O'Donovan and Diarmuid Byrnes. The Doon and Patrickswell stars have been dropped to the bench as Kiely looks to freshen his starting team and, no doubt, send a message to his panel.


Paddy O'Loughlin (Kilmallock) and William O'Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh) are the two fresh faces.


1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)
2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
4. Richie English (Doon)
5. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
7. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock)
8. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
9. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
10. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)
11. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
14. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

Limerick substitutes: 

16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Paul Browne (Bruff)
18. Diarmuid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
19. Tom Condon (Knockaderry)
20. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock)
21. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh)
22. Barry Murphy (Doon)
23. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
24. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
25. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca)
26. Pat Ryan (Doon)