13 Dubs spearhead All-star list that will keep most happy 1 year ago

13 Dubs spearhead All-star list that will keep most happy

45 of the very finest.

The PwC All-Star football nominees are out and the debates are about to begin.

11 counties have players nominated for All-Stars in a list spearheaded by 13 Dubs and nine Kerry men. It's hard to have much qualms with their sizeable representations.

In the goals, thankfully, Shaun Patton's flawless year was rewarded. Sadly for him, he's up against the greatest of his time. Cluxton is a shoo-in, and the Parnell's man will run O'Callaghan and McCaffrey close for Footballer of the Year too.

In defence, Jonny Cooper and Eoin Murchan are the only Dubs to miss out as Davy Byrne and John Small get the nod. Paddy Durcan, Colm Boyle, Stephen McMenamin, Conor McGill and Donal Keogan are all deservedly called while Cavan's Conor Moynagh is the only real eyebrow raiser.

Despite not starting the replay, Michael Darragh MacAuley is nominated in midfield while Bryan Menton and Jarly Óg Burns get their dues.

In attack, Niall Scully is the only Dub to miss out on a nominee while Brian Hurley, Jamie Malone and Rian O'Neill get the credit they most definitely deserve.

As for the top gong, Brian Howard can count himself unlucky not to be amongst the three nominated but there has to be a fall guy. Clifford, Sean O'Shea and Rian O'Neill will fight out the Young Footballer of the Year award.



Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Shaun Patton (Donegal)
Shane Ryan (Kerry)


Davy Byrne (Dublin)
John Small (Dublin)
Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)
Tadgh Morley (Kerry)
Tom O'Sullivan (Kerry)
Paul Murphy (Kerry)
Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)
Conor Moynagh (Cavan)
Stephen McMenamin (Donegal)
Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
Colm Boyle (Mayo)
Chris Barrett (Mayo)
Paddy Durcan (Mayo)
Niall Daly (Roscommon)
Donal Keogan (Meath)
Conor McGill (Meath)


Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin)
David Moran (Kerry)
Aidan O'Shea (Mayo)
Brian Menton (Meath)
Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh)


Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
Brian Howard (Dublin)
Paul Mannion (Dublin)
Dean Rock (Dublin)
Con O'Callaghan (Dublin)
David Clifford (Kerry)
Paul Geaney (Kerry)
Stephen O'Brien (Kerry)
Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
Michael Murphy (Donegal)
Jamie Brennan (Donegal)
Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)
Cathal McShane (Tyrone)
Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)
Jamie Malone (Clare)
Conor Cox (Roscommon)
Rian O'Neill (Armagh)
Brian Hurley (Cork)

Footballer of the Year nominees

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
Con O'Callaghan (Dublin)
Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

Young Footballer of the Year nominees

David Clifford (Kerry)
Sean O'Shea (Kerry)
Rian O'Neill (Armagh)

GAA JOE All-Star team