James McCarthy Ireland's best pick Premier League trading cards released 3 weeks ago

James McCarthy Ireland's best pick Premier League trading cards released

Come at the (trading card) king, you best not miss.

James McCarthy bounced back from two years of injury issues, last season, to prove a dependable Premier League performer for Crystal Palace. As a trading card, he's handy to have in your back pocket too.

The 2020/21 Premier League season is set to resume on September 12 and teams are currently trying to get their squads finalised.

The transfer window is not set to close until October 6 but two Irish players - Troy Parrott [loaned to Millwall] and Jeff Hendrick [signed by Newastle United] have already moved on.

Adam Idah (Norwich) and Mark Travers (Bournemouth) have slipped down to the Championship but promotions for West Brom, Leeds United and Fulham should see Dara O'Shea, Conor Shaughnessey and Cyrus Christie back in the big time. Shaughnessey will be hoping to prove himself worthy to Marco Bielsa in Leeds' pre-season window.

Ahead of the new season, Panini has released their official Premier League trading cards for 2020/21. Here are some of the selected Irish picks from the latest release of cards.

James McCarthy

A 'control' high score of 85 sees the former Wigan and Everton midfielder top the list of Irish players and internationals on 245.

Séamus Coleman

Coleman, who has been at Everton since 2009 and has played 317 times for the Toffees, scores well in the three areas of attack, defence and control for a total of 244.

Matt Doherty

Our personal pick for best Irish player currently in the Premier League, Doherty should have a better 'attack' score than 78. Eight goals and eight assists in his last two Premier League seasons.

Enda Stevens


Ciaran Clark

Conor Hourihane

Robbie Brady

John Egan

David McGoldrick

Shane Long

Cyrus Christie

Aaron Connolly

Michael Obafemi

As the man himself may tweet - Interesting!

*NOTE - The following players' cards were not available for viewing: Shane Duffy, Jeff Hendrick, Will Smallbone, Thomas O'Connor, Will Ferry, Conor Shaughnessey, Jayson Molumby, Dara O'Shea, Darren Randolph, Caoimhín Kelleher and Callum Robinson.