Stephen Kenny names exciting Ireland Under 21 squad 1 year ago

Stephen Kenny names exciting Ireland Under 21 squad

There are players from Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur in the squad.

Stephen Kenny has named his first squad for a competitive game as Republic of Ireland under-21 manager.

Kenny's team take on Luxembourg at Tallaght Stadium on March 24 as they begin their qualification campaign for the Under-21 European Championships.

The former Dundalk manager has named an exciting squad, containing players from some of England's top teams as well as eight players based in domestic football.

Troy Parrott has received his first call-up to the Under-21 team.

The 17-year-old Tottenham Hotspur forward has impressed for Ireland at the Under-17 European Championships last May, scoring three goals, and is highly rated by his club.

Liverpool pair Caoimhin Kelleher and Conor Masterson have been called-up by Kenny.

Lee O'Connor of Manchester United, West Ham United midfielder Conor Coventry and Gavin Bazunu, who recently joined Manchester City from Shamrock Rovers, are also in the squad.

Jamie Lennon, Neil Farrugia and Trevor Clarke are among the League of Ireland players in Kenny's selection.

Italy, Sweden, Iceland and Armenia are the other teams in Ireland's group. Ireland have never qualified for the Under-21 European Championships.

Kenny will become senior team manager in August 2020 and will not see out the Under-21 qualification campaign.

But he will undoubtedly be hoping that some of the players he named in his squad on Wednesday will progress to the senior side.

Here is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City)

Defenders: Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Dara O’Shea (Exeter City, on loan from West Bromwich Albion), Barry Cotter (Ipswich Town), Corey Ndaba (Ipswich Town), Conor Masterson (Liverpool), Lee O'Connor (Manchester United), Trevor Clarke (Shamrock Rovers), Liam Scales (UCD).

Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Brighton and Hove Albion), Jake Doyle Hayes (Cambridge United, on loan from Aston Villa), Connor Ronan (FC DAC 1904, on loan from Wolverhampton Wanderers), Jamie Lennon (St. Patrick’s Athletic), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Dan Mandroiu (Bohemians).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur), Neil Farrugia (UCD AFC), Zach Elbouzedi (Waterford), Michael O’Connor (Linfield), Simon Power (FC Dordrecht, on loan from Norwich City).